“Advancing Together” the Democratizing Development Program

We launched NFG’s new Democratizing Development Program this summer with the goal of supporting our network to help create a shift in how development happens in cities and towns across the country. We are working toward a vision where low-income people and communities of color have actual decision-making ability to say what development looks like in their neighborhoods, and to define where and how they want to live. Here is a short list of what we have been up to.

We also have lots of great programming planned for the rest of the year:

  Online 2017 Program Planning Survey

  
As we plan for 2017, we would love your input for the direction of the program. Please complete the Democratizing Development 2017 Program Planning Survey here by November 18, 2016.

➤  Funder Webinar on Governance, Participatory Budgeting and Grantmaking

  
October 26, 2016, 11am PST / Noon MST / 1pm CST / 2pm EST (90 mins)
  
The webinar will examine democratic and participatory models where community stakeholders help decide where public resources should be allocated.  We will explore different ways participatory resource sharing can deepen democracy, build stronger communities, build trust, and examine equitable and effective ways funders and community partners can work together. Speakers include: Josh Lerner, Executive Director of Participatory Budgeting Project and Tyler Nickerson, Director of Investments and State Strategy at The Solutions Project.

  Webinar: Post-Election Equity, Economy and People Discussion: Ain’t No Mountain High Enough

November 30, 2016 (tentative) | Webinar

Speakers will discuss the current national trends, and strategies that we will need to deploy under the new political environment.  They will also provide perspectives on how to move an equity agenda that is bold, reflective and action-oriented.

➤  In-Person Meeting: Democratizing Development Advancement Planning

December 1, 2016 | New York City, NYC

The advisory committee and program committee members will hold a day-long gathering to map out the direction and priorities of the 2017 plan. We welcome colleagues who would like to engage more deeply in shaping this program.

➤  Spring 2017 Learning Tour

Dates TBD | Pittsburgh, PA 

We are exploring a learning tour in Pittsburgh, PA, with Heinz Endowments, City of Pittsburgh and Pittsburgh United a coalition of community, labor, faith, and environmental organizations committed to advancing the vision of a community and economy that work for all people.

   

To learn more about the Democratizing Development Program, contact Nile K. Malloy, Senior Program Manager, nile@nfg.org.