Webinar – Voting Trends + Building Power in the AAPI Community

Monday, November 6, 2017

12 - 1 pm PT / 1 - 2 pm MT / 2 - 3 pm CT / 3 - 4 pm ET
 

— REGISTER HERE —

The Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) community will enter 2018 with significant growth in their engagement in elections as the fastest growing population in the country, continuing a strong trend in increased turnout, and a record of seventeen AAPI Members of Congress now serving in office. Despite this growth, participation by communities of color in midterm elections have remained disproportionately low in past cycles and, with a political climate fueled by hate and xenophobia, the need for targeted and robust strategies to engage AAPI communities continues to be a priority.

Join us for this installment of FCCP's 2018 Election Series, co-sponsored by Neighborhood Funders Group, where you will hear:

  • How recent data from the 2016 elections provides new insights into trends in turnout and voter registration within the AAPI community.
  • What tactics are being employed by leaders in the field around effective engagement within the diverse AAPI community.
  • What key questions and considerations funders should be considering when looking at election-cycle grantmaking that can promote increased engagement in the 2018 elections as well as supporting longer-term power-building strategies.
  • Questions and ideas that other funders are grappling with from their grantmaking to support the AAPI community.

Speakers:

Cosponsors: Environmental Grantmakers Association, Grantmakers Concerned with Immigrants and Refugees, Grantmakers in Health, Grantmakers Income Security Taskforce, Health & Environmental Funders Network, Philanthropy New York, United Philanthropy Forum, Women Donors Network