Webinar Recap: How to Creatively Fund Social Movements

In the coming years, we see a greater need for philanthropy to support frontline advocacy and organizing for justice. How can funders drive more resources to community-based social change organizations, beyond the traditional grantmaking model? 

Neighborhood Funders Group and the National Committee for Responsive Philanthropy (NCRP) co-hosted "How to Creatively Fund Social Movements," a webinar that explored how foundations can be more creative and flexible in supporting grassroots groups and leaders. Participants learned from experienced grant makers and organizers, including insight into internal processes for foundation staff and board.  

View the recap, recording, and slides here.

Webinar Presented by NFG and NCRP

Wednesday, Friday 15, 2017

10:30am PT/ 11:30am MT/12:30pm CT/1:30pm ET

 Speakers:

  • Molly Schultz Hafid works as assistant director of the Unitarian Universalist Veatch Program at Shelter Rock, where she is responsible for the Democratic Participation, Civil and Constitutional Rights and Community Organizing program areas. 
  • Shalini Eddens works as the director of programs at Urgent Action Fund. She has an extensive background in women’s health and rights, with over 15 years of leadership experience in the grassroots public health sector providing direct services, training, education and advocacy for women living with and affected by HIV.
  • Día Bùi works as co-director at the Washington Peace Center. As a Vietnamese queer women of color, organizer, activist and facilitator, she has more than 10 years of experience working on issues including immigrant rights, racial justice, access to higher education, women’s rights, health equity, LGBTQ equality and economic justice.
  • Thenmozhi Soundararajan is founder and executive director of Equality Labs, a South Asian American human rights start-up working at the intersection of story, art and security. Also known as DALIT DIVA, Soundararajan is a transmedia storyteller, technologist and journalist who believes story is the most important unit of social change.
  • Kelli King-Jackson is a Senior Program officer with The Simmons Foundation. She joined the Foundation in 2012 after more than 15 years engaged in nonprofit advocacy work around issues such as access to health care, community engagement, and youth/young adult leadership.