Funder Webinar: Gender, Race, and Criminalization

DATE: Wednesday, October 26, 2016

TIME: 10:30 am - noon PT / 11:30am - 1 pm MT / 12:30 - 2 pm CT / 1:30 - 3 pm ET 

Funders for Justice (FFJ) has intentionally lifted up the work, lives, and voices of women and trans folks of color, along with gender justice and LGBTQ funders—especially in regards to policing, criminalization, and state violence. At the same time, our members, including affinity partners and new collaboratives, have started explicitly focusing gender justice. We are eager to have a conversation dedicated to gender justice, racial justice, and criminalization. 

Centering on the leadership of (queer, trans, and straight) women and trans folks of color, especially Black women and trans movement leaders, we will discuss why it is important to bring a gender justice lens to all movement work. Hearing from activists working at these intersections, we will discuss the specific ways structural racism and other oppressive forces uniquely impact women, trans, and queer folks of color and how movements are working to address and dismantle systemic oppression. 

Learn about transformative solutions directly from the strong leadership of women and trans folks in movements, and discuss how funders can support activists applying a gender justice lens in racial justice and anti-criminalization movement work. Our hope is for participants to understand what it means to fund movements working at the intersections and examples of how grantmakers can center women, queer, and trans folks of color in their funding. 

Speakers:

Moderator: Nakisha Lewis, Ms. Foundation for Women


Please note that this webinar is intended for funders. If you are a funder and interested in this webinar, but are not a member of FFJ, please write to us at FundersForJustice@nfg.org for the call-in information.


Co-sponsored by:

If your institution would like to join as a co-sponsor, please write to us at fundersforjustice@nfg.org. 

Many thanks to the FFJ members who helped plan this webinar:
  • Tynesha McHarris, NoVo Foundation
  • Miabi Chatterji, Astraea Lesbian Foundation for Justice and LGBTQ Racial Justice Fund
  • Ryan Li Dahlstrom, Borealis Philanthropy
  • Naa Hammond, Groundswell Fund
  • Rye Young, Third Wave Fund
  • Nakisha Lewis, Ms. Foundation for Women
  • Gabriel Foster, Trans Justice Funding Project
  • Rickke Mananzala, Borealis Philanthropy
  • Brook Kelly-Green, Ford Foundation
  • Susan Wefald, Ms. Foundation for Women
  • Monica Enriquez-Enriquez, Astraea Lesbian Foundation for Justice
  • Luna Yasui, Ford Foundation
  • Ben Francisco Maulbeck, Funders for LGBTQ Issues

Visit us online at FundersForJustice.org for more information.