More About Funders for a Just Economy

Discount Foundation Legacy Award

Funders for a Just Economy Members

Funders for a Just Economy is the gathering place for funders committed to economic justice and workplace issues. We are committed to advancing the philanthropic conversation about economic and social justice, and the centrality of unions and other worker formations in those efforts. We invite our colleagues and partners in philanthropy to join our working group. The working group is comprised of local, regional, and national funders. Members meet regularly to share strategies, collaborate in learning opportunities, and plan programming. If you are interested in learning more about our work and possibly becoming a member of Funders for a Just Economy, please contact us at


Coordinating Committee Members

Aditi Vaidya, Solidago Foundation, FJE Co-Chair 
Will Cordery, Surdna Foundation, FJE Co-Chair
Alejandra Ibañez, The Woods Fund
Marjona Jones, Unitarian Universalist Veatch Program at Shelter Rock 
Laine Romero-Alston, Ford Foundation
Bob Shull, Public Welfare Foundation

Funder Members

Dimple AbichandaniGeneral Service Foundation 
Deborah Bennett, Polk Brothers
Carolina Briones, California Community Foundation
Matthew Bruce, Chicagoland Workforce Funder Alliance
Sharon Bush, Grand Victoria Foundation
Shona Chakravartty, Hill-Snowdon Foundation
Rubie Coles, Moriah Fund
Nikole Collins-Puri, The Women's Foundation of California
Maggie Corser, Open Societies Foundation
Susan Crane, SkillUp Washington
Puja Dhawan, NoVo Foundation
Jose Garcia, Surdna Foundation
Becca Golden, Ben and Jerrys Foundation
Patrick Hain, Annie E Casey
Alejandra Ibanez, The Woods Fund
Anna Lefer Kuhn, Arca Foundation
James H. Lewis, Ph.D., The Chicago Community Trust
Andrea Lynch, Foundation for a Just Society
Aleyamma Mathew, Ms. Foundation for Women
Regina McGraw, Weiboldt Foundation
Valeria Treves, LIFT Fund
Amy Morris, Fund for Global Human Rights
Ed Murphy, Workforce Development Institute
Susan Naranjo, Liberty Hill Foundation
Luke Newton, Common Counsel Foundation
Jonathan Njus, Kellogg Foundation
Emma Oppenheim, Open Society Foundations
Judy Patrick, The Women's Foundation of California
Michele Prichard, Liberty Hill Foundation
Margarita Ramirez, Liberty Hill Foundation
Carmen Rojas, The Workers Lab
Laine Romero-Alston, Ford Foundation
Janet Shenk, Panta Rhea Foundation
Bob Shull, Public Welfare Foundation
Molly Schultz Hafid, Unitarian Universalist Veatch Program at Shelter Rock
Tim Silard, Rosenberg Foundation
Lateefah Simon, Rosenberg Foundation
Mary Sobecki, Needmor Fund
Zeke Spier, Social Justice Fund NW
Aditi Vaidya, Solidago Foundation
Anna Wadia, Ford Foundation

"The Ms. Foundation is deeply concerned about women's economic security. The Working Group keeps us up-to-date on the labor movement's successes and challenges in organizing women. It also helps us identify worthwhile projects that emerge from new organizing." -Sara Gould, former President of the Ms. Foundation for Women