Webinar: Moving the South Forward in the New Reality: A Post-Election Funder Briefing

NFG's Grantmakers for Southern Progress working group, along with the Mary Reynolds Babcock Foundation and Funders for LGBTQ Issues' Out in the South Initiative, are co-hosting a conference call for funders to explore the impact of this year's election results in Southern communities.

Friday, December 16, 2016

8 am PT / 9 am MT / 10 am CT / 11 am ET 

 

RSVP HERE

As we know, Southern communities have been navigating challenging political climates for decades. Leaders and practitioners will offer their insights about the challenges and opportunities of the current national narrative about what happened in the South and what is needed as we move forward.

Partners from across the region will provide a multi-state analysis using election data; explore key learnings from civic engagement efforts in North Carolina and Georgia; and provide an emerging analysis on the impact of the election on social justice efforts that aim to support LGBTQ, people of color and immigrant communities in the South. We will also explore what we know about the impacts of the new administration's first-100-day agenda on policies essential to health, well-being and human rights in the region.

Justin Maxson, Executive Director of the Mary Reynolds Babcock Foundation, will moderate the conversation and offer context for working in Southern communities.

Speakers will include: