Upcoming Events

  • Wednesday, October 26, 2016 at 01:30 PM

    FFJ Webinar on Gender, Race, and Criminalization

    DATE: Wednesday, October 26, 2016

    TIME: 10:30 am - noon PT / 11:30am - 1 pm MT / 12:30 - 2 pm CT / 1:30 - 3 pm ET 

    Funders for Justice (FFJ) has intentionally lifted up the work, lives, and voices of women and trans folks of color, along with gender justice and LGBTQ funders—especially in regards to policing, criminalization, and state violence. At the same time, our members, including affinity partners and new collaboratives, have started explicitly focusing gender justice. We are eager to have a conversation dedicated to gender justice, racial justice, and criminalization. 

    Centering on the leadership of (queer, trans, and straight) women and trans folks of color, especially Black women and trans movement leaders, we will discuss why it is important to bring a gender justice lens to all movement work. Hearing from activists working at these intersections, we will discuss the specific ways structural racism and other oppressive forces uniquely impact women, trans, and queer folks of color and how movements are working to address and dismantle systemic oppression. 

    Learn about transformative solutions directly from the strong leadership of women and trans folks in movements, and discuss how funders can support activists applying a gender justice lens in racial justice and anti-criminalization movement work. Our hope is for participants to understand what it means to fund movements working at the intersections and examples of how grantmakers can center women, queer, and trans folks of color in their funding. 


    Moderator: Nakisha Lewis, Ms. Foundation for Women

    Please note that this webinar is intended for funders. If you are a funder and interested in this webinar, but are not a member of FFJ, please write to us at FundersForJustice@nfg.org for the call-in information.

    Co-sponsored by:

    If your institution would like to join as a co-sponsor, please write to us at fundersforjustice@nfg.org. 

    Many thanks to the FFJ members who helped plan this webinar:
    • Tynesha McHarris, NoVo Foundation
    • Miabi Chatterji, Astraea Lesbian Foundation for Justice and LGBTQ Racial Justice Fund
    • Ryan Li Dahlstrom, Borealis Philanthropy
    • Naa Hammond, Groundswell Fund
    • Rye Young, Third Wave Fund
    • Nakisha Lewis, Ms. Foundation for Women
    • Gabriel Foster, Trans Justice Funding Project
    • Rickke Mananzala, Borealis Philanthropy
    • Brook Kelly-Green, Ford Foundation
    • Susan Wefald, Ms. Foundation for Women
    • Monica Enriquez-Enriquez, Astraea Lesbian Foundation for Justice
    • Luna Yasui, Ford Foundation
    • Ben Francisco Maulbeck, Funders for LGBTQ Issues

    Visit us online at FundersForJustice.org for more information.  

  • Wednesday, October 26, 2016 at 02:00 PM

    Funder Webinar: Governance, Participatory Budgeting and Grantmaking

    DATE: Wednesday, October 26, 2016

    TIME: 11:00 - 12:30 pm PST / 12:00 - 1:30 pm MST / 1:00 - 2:30 pm CST / 2:00 - 3:30 pm EST

    This Neighborhood Funders Group webinar will examine democratic and participatory models where community stakeholders help decide how public and philanthropic resources should be allocated.  We will explore different ways participatory resource sharing can deepen democracy, form stronger communities, and build trust. Our discussion will also examine equitable and effective ways funders and community partners can collaborate.  

    Speakers will include:

    Please register by Friday, October 21, 2016. We will send out additional call information and materials before the webinar date.

    This webinar is open to all staff and trustees of foundations and philanthropy-supporting organizations.

    For more information, contact Shannon Lin at shannon@nfg.org or 510-444-6063, ext. 2012. 

  • Wednesday, November 16, 2016 at 08:00 AM

    2016 Post-Election Briefing: Politics, Policy and Philanthropy

    Registration is now open! Click here to register.

    For more details, please visit the event page

    The Grantmakers Income Security Taskforce (GIST) and NFG's Funders for a Just Economy (FJE) invites you to attend the 2016 Post-Election Briefing: Politics, Policy and Philanthropy, on November 16-17, 2016 in Washington, DC.  This meeting is free of charge and open to foundation representatives and philanthropic advisors. 

    The 2016 elections are a sign of changing times--in terms of political participation, dialog on the direction of the country, and directions for social and economic policy. Assessing the new environment in the aftermath of the election and identifying new windows of opportunity to work strategically and collaboratively will be essential to advancing the work of philanthropy and improving the lives of low-income families, workers and communities.  
    Join us for a conversation on:
    - Election outcomes and what it suggests in terms of opportunities and challenges facing families and communities across the nation;
    - Roundtable discussions on what this means for our work as funders;
    - Philanthropic efforts underway to help shape the first 100 days of the new Administration and Congress;
    - Media game changers in the elections and how our communication strategies must change as the media evolves; and
    - New research on communications approaches that can shift public thinking on race equity, gender, government, and other issues.

    For more information, please contact Cema Siegel at csiegel@gistfunders.org