Weathering the Storm: Building Resilience Against Opposition Attacks

A Webinar for Funders

Hosted by Common Counsel FoundationFunders' Committee for Civic Participation, Grantmakers Concerned with Immigrants and Refugees, National Committee for Responsive Philanthropy, Neighborhood Funders Group, and Unitarian Universalist Veatch Program at Shelter Rock 
Monday, June 29, 2015
10:30am-12:00noon pacific/ 11:30am-1pm mountain/ 12:30-2pm central / 1:30-3pm eastern

Linda Meric, 9to5  
Mary Ochs, RoadMap
Gihan Perera, Florida New Majority  
Anna Wadia, Ford Foundation  

Moderated by Molly Schultz Hafid, Unitarian Universalist Veatch Program at Shelter Rock  


In the past few years, many funders have witnessed large scale campaigns to discredit or event shut down grantee organizations. Although we often hope our grantees and field partners are not vulnerable to these kinds of attacks, in fact organizations are confronting them more and more. The good news is that organizations can prepare themselves and even fight back.
To help them do just that, RoadMap has designed Weathering the Storm, a training series, toolkit, and ongoing consulting support for organizations. Read their new report on their first three years of Weathering the Storm, and learn about how your grantees can prepare for and address these types of attacks: 1) allegations of partisan political activity, 2) public relations attacks, 3) infiltration, surveillance  and entrapment, 4) digital intrusions, 5) harassment and violence, 6) intimidation lawsuits, 7) pressure on funders, 8) risks from disgruntled employees.
Join this webinar to hear directly from grassroots organizations and fellow grantmakers about the strategies and tools they gained from RoadMap's Weathering the Storm training series and toolkit and how they addressed the challenges they faced.

Please note that this webinar is for funders and affinity group staff members only. If you have questions, please feel free to write to us at


June 29, 2015 at 1:30pm - 3pm