Funder Webinar - Puerto Rico: From Relief to Equitable Recovery

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

   

10 am PT / 11 am MT / 12 pm CT / 1 pm ET

The conditions in Puerto Rico are dire. Hurricanes Irma and Maria have destroyed homes, crops, and key transportation, electrical grid and communications infrastructure across the island. Millions lack power and access to clean drinking water. An impending health crisis, with hospitals either running on generators or not running at all, ensues throughout the island.

As the community awaits a federal government response, citizens, funders, and grassroots organizations have been organizing to support Puerto Rico's communities. Please join us and our partners for an important conversation on how the funder community can help to ensure equitable rebuilding in Puerto Rico.

Hispanics in Philanthropy and Neighborhood Funders Group are hosting a webinar providing an in-depth look at hurricane recovery in Puerto Rico. 

REGISTER HERE

In this webinar, the first of a series, local funders and nonprofit leaders will share on-the-ground details of current efforts as well as strategies for how funders can invest in the long-term equitable rebuilding of our communities. Following webinars will focus on specific issue areas including youth, housing, employment, and more.

Speakers:

  • Beatriz Polhamus Lopez, La Red de Fundaciones de Puerto Rico, Inc. (The Network of Foundations of Puerto Rico)
  • Amanda Rivera, Boys and Girls Club of Puerto Rico
  • Xiomara Caro Diaz, Hurricane Maria Relief and Recovery Fund (“Maria Fund”)

Moderator:

  • Karina Claudio Betancourt, Open Society Foundations