2021-2022 Midterm Election Series

The 2022 Midterm Elections are rapidly approaching. Next November, elections around the country will shape Congress and state and national policy outcomes, while setting the stage for the 2024 presidential election. With a polarized political landscape, civic engagement and voter mobilization among rural and tribal communities will have a critical impact for years to come. 

Join Heartland Fund and NFG's Midwest Organizing Infrastructure Funders and Integrated Rural Strategies Group for a multi-part webinar series covering the factors at play and strategies for rural civic engagement throughout the 2021-2022 midterm election cycle, which has already begun! 

This series will aim to educate funders as they explore their civic engagement investment strategy going into the 2022 midterm elections through exploring shifting demographics, redistricting, and voter access, including a focus on rural and Midwest communities. Join us to learn how the 2022 midterms are shaping the landscape of issues and communities of importance. 

This series will be informative for funders interested in civic engagement and community power building strategies, immigration and demographic change, racial justice, environmental justice, and rural and tribal communities. The series will also be relevant to place-based funders in the Midwest and beyond.  

  • Hear new data and analysis on shifting demographics, economic trends, narratives, and how organizers are responding to anti-democratic efforts to restrict voter access, particularly for rural, tribal, and POC voters
  • Learn from frontline organizations using issue campaigns to mobilize voters. Discuss the strategies and issues that POC and tribal community leaders are prioritizing in the Midwest and rural settings for 2022.
  • Reflect on lessons learned from 2020 and how they can help inform work moving into next year.

 

Session #1: Shifts and Myths: Looking at 2022 Through a Midwest BIPOC Lens

November 4, 2021 at 10:00am PDT | 12:00pm CDT | 1:00pm EDT

With 2020 Census analysis providing new insights into how rural, Black, Indigenous, and POC communities in the Midwest are changing, funders are invited to understand the implications for how these communities are building power and mobilizing voters around issues of importance.

Join us to learn about how shifting demographics in the Midwest impact civic engagement across the region. This event will aim to educate funders as they explore their civic engagement investment strategy going into the 2022 midterm elections through highlighting the importance of civic engagement in rural immigrant communities, small city/town Black communities, and Native communities across the Midwest.

register

Learning objectives for this program include:

  • What opportunities and challenges for building power and deepening civic engagement are presented by demographic shifts in the Midwest?
  • How are communities within the rising majority building power within constrained political contexts?
  • How can funders best understand the organizational impacts of cyclical funding on the civic terrain of the Midwest?
  • How can funders innovate new models that are better equipped to meet today's challenges and opportunities?

This event will feature the following speakers:

This session is hosted by Heartland Fund and NFG's Midwest Organizing Infrastructure Funders and Integrated Rural Strategies Group, and co-sponsored by Native Americans in Philanthropy. This is the first session of the 2021-2022 Midterm Election Series. 


 

Session #2

February 23, 2022 at 11:00am PST | 1:00pm CST | 2:00pm EST

Session description coming soon!

This session is hosted by Heartland Fund and NFG's Midwest Organizing Infrastructure Funders and Integrated Rural Strategies Group.

register

Find More By:

Event type: