Funders for a Just Economy 2021 Policy Briefing

Across the US, we are struggling with crises: the COVID-19 pandemic, the crippling racial and gender gaps in wealth, income, and political influence, rising fascism, and the deteriorating conditions for Black, Indigenous, and people of color, low-income communities and workers, rural communities, LGBTQIA people, women, and immigrants. In response, community members and workers have been increasingly organizing, demonstrating, and striking for basic protections and real solutions to bring relief in the shorter term, and a just recovery in the longer term. They are calling for a new vision for justice and safety free from police violence and sexual violence, toward a vision that creates economic security and promotes physical, mental and environmental health. Workers from many sectors, like educators, warehouse workers, rideshare drivers, and food processing workers, are mounting powerful campaigns to address intersectional issues and building support for long-term policy visions like the Always Essential campaign, PRO Act, BREATHE Act, Healthcare for all, and the THRIVE agenda.

This year’s Funders for a Just Economy (FJE) Policy Briefing aims to organize funders to resource and support these multi-racial and broad coalitions of grassroots community and labor organizations, who are imagining and enacting new possibilities for an economy that works for all. During the Policy Briefings keynotes and three panels, we will hear from organizers and leaders from grassroots organizations, academia, labor, and government who are championing multi-issue policies and strengthening deep and powerful movements. This is event is for the philanthropic community, including funders and philanthropy serving institutions, only. Join us March 10-12th!
 

SESSION 1: Wednesday, March 10, 2021
Starting at: 9am HST, 11am PST, 12pm MST, 1pm CST, 2pm EST
Total time: 2.5 hours (including a break)
 
 
SESSION 2: Thursday, March 11, 2021
Starting at: 10am HST, 12pm PST, 1pm MST, 2pm CST, 3pm EST
Total Time: 1.5 hours
 
 
SESSION 3: Friday, March 12, 2021
Starting at: 9am HST, 11am PST, 12pm MST, 1pm CST, 2pm EST
Total Time: 2.5 hours (including a break)
 
 
 

SPEAKERS:

March 10

March 11

March 12